IACMR AwardsMOR AwardsConference Awards

2019 Grant Winners of Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund

The Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund was created to commemorate the life and work of Professor Kwok Leung, and to continue his mission of supporting young scholars. The fund is intended to support Ph.D. students who need funds to collect data to finish their dissertations. The fund is open to all doctoral students doing Chinese Management research. 

It's the 4th year to invite proposals for the fund grant. The Call for Proposals was announced on March 21, 2019. By the submission deadline of April 30, 2019, 22 valid proposals had been received from students of 18 universities (alphabetically) Curtin University, Fudan University, IESE Business School, Lingnan University, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Nanyang Technological University, Ohio State University, Singapore Management University, National University of Singapore, Peking University, Renmin University of China, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Liverpool, University of Maryland, University of Minnesota, University of Nottingham Ningbo China and Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University. 

The IACMR Research Committee members , co-chaired by David Zhu (Arizona State University) and Jia (Jasmine) Hu (The Ohio State University), reviewed and assessed the submitted proposals, each of which received two reviews. The following five proposals (listed in alphabetical order of the authors’ last name) received the highest ratings and have won Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund grants.

Altruistic or Egoistic? Tests of Competing Explanations of Third Parties' Motivation to Help Abused Coworkers
Zhiyu Feng (冯志玉), Nanyang Technological University

Understanding the Gender Gap in Entrepreneurial Financing: Impact of Gender-Role Incongruity and Cultural Tightness
Tingting Lang (郎婷婷), Singapore Management University

Trajectories of Leader (Un)Ethicality Over Time: Conceptual Integration, Empirical Investigations, and Interventions
Wei Wang (王未), University of Minnesota

Speaking Up as a Mixed Blessing: A Within-Individual Examination of Personal Consequences of Voice Behavior
Jingxian Yao (姚敬先), National University of Singapore

When may investors reconstruct their cognition of gender stereotyping towards corporate leaders: A study of Chinese POEs
Danyang Zhu (朱丹阳), Fudan University

Warm congratulations to the above winners! Each winner will be awarded a grant of RMB10,000 yuan. The award ceremony will take place at the IACMR awards meeting during the AoM annual meeting on Sunday August 11th, 2019.

Thanks to donations of many scholars who made this award possible (click here for name list of donors). We would appreciate very much if you could join us to support Kwok's mission of training young scholars! Please contact Dr. Lerong He, IACMR Treasurer, at lhe@brockport.edu if you feel like to do so. Thank you for your kind attention and constant support!

Ray Friedman

Links Related